1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

what can teachers do after teaching???

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Internetstartup, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Hi. I've been teaching Mathematics for fifteen years now and am completely fed up with teaching the same old stuff every year. I'm beginning to think that instead of fifteen years experience I have one year experience doing the same thing fifteen times.
    The problem is I've been thinking this for about five years now but have no idea what to do if I leave. I'm already 40 and I know career changing at his late stage is a hard slog if it is at all possible.

Any ideas?

2. stopwatch

stopwatch Occasional commenter

I like that one (the bit in bold).
    Really, you haven't changed anything you have done in 15 years? You haven't developed yourself careerwise (courses, new initiatives, promotion)?
    No wonder you are bored and frustrated.
    Having got that out of the way, it all depends what your financiual situation is. It's not so much what you do, but whether it will bring you the financial return you need.
    I would like to go to auctions, buy antiques and then sell for profit on ebay, or even open up a small shop. However I dont have the financial backup to cover me if this fails.
    Being a Maths teacher you probably have more options than most. Accountancy? Private Schools?
    I am guessing you are already working overseas, otherwise I would suggest that.
    What is it exactly that you are finding so boring? if you are overseas, perhaps you should be focusing more on your free time and holidays and making more of these.

3. AshgarMary

AshgarMary New commenter