1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What can I do instead of teaching?

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by excitableashell, Jan 1, 2007.

1. I hope there is someone out there who can help me with my career plight!
    I have been teaching now for 7 years in primary schools. 4 years ago I was experiencing horrible conditions with my health which included constant nausea which my Dr was trying to solve for me through a range of medication. I eventually moved school and it seems my stomach complaints went with the move, not something I realised at the time!
    Over the past year my symptoms appear to of returned with avengence (due to my job)! I have been treated for depression (something my Head had no understanding of & made my life hell when I was absent for this!) & have recently been told that my symptoms are caused by anxiety. Basically I am not happy teaching anymore and dread the fact that I have to do so, hence it now badly affecting my health. My partner has been very understanding and wants to support me through this time and a much needed career change. My problem is I don't know where to start looking?! Obviously I would like a reasonable wage (although am prepared to be dropping a little from what I am currently on) but what can I do?? I feel there is no life during teaching and no life after teaching! Has anyone out there any suggestions of where I can get guidance or indeed what can I do? Has anyone been in a similar position and if so what are you doing now? I am at my witts end but I know I have to leave for my health, any ideas please?!

2. I hope there is someone out there who can help me with my career plight!