1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What are you being paid?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by wingy08, Feb 10, 2011.

1. Ok - sorry if it's a cheeky question, but I am new to the supply game and need some advice! I was M6 and had passed through threshold at the end of my last post as a primary teacher. I'm now looking at supply work and have been quoted a daily rate of £115 for work in London (outer London).

From the other forum posts on here, this seems very low for someone at this level (If you take off weekends I was being paid £134 a day in my old post INCLUDING during school holidays and the other rates quoted on this forum for someone at my level seem to be between £140 and £160 a day). I know that supply work is scarce in some areas and work is work.....but the consultant has said he has a lot of work at the moment (although that could just be sales nonsense he's talking of course). The consultant has said that he will increase the rate after a half term. He is probably trying to get me into lots of schools by making me 'cheap' but this feels like I am being undersold quite a lot...... So I wanted to know what other supply teachers are being paid as a daily rate and are you getting work at that rate? (And do you recommend any good agencies in North London with better rates of pay?)

Any advice is appreciated!

2. Wuzzy

Wuzzy New commenter

My local authority supply agency pays according to the national teaching pay scales - so if you are M6, that is what you get paid at. If I were to work the full 195 days in an academic year I would earn the same salary as a FT teacher on the same scale as me.