1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What are the statutory requirements for submitting weekly planning to the SLT?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by FabulousPoodle, Sep 27, 2020.

1. FabulousPoodle

FabulousPoodle New commenter

Hello all,

I am a teacher of a Nursery class, who are very young, mainly late Spring and Summer born children.

We are still in the process of helping our children to settle, dealing with separation anxiety, toileting, building trusting relationships with unfamiliar adults, (without home visits), learning to share, take turns and wait for access to resources, adapting to nursery routines, having to locate to the dining hall for lunch and in some cases, learning to adapt to attending breakfast club, transitioning to nursery class, transitioning again to the dining hall for lunch, adapting to unfamiliar staff for the lunch period, then, at the end of the day, transitioning to after school club. A lot to ask of a 37 month old child!!

In the past, I planned daily, in order to respond to the children's needs and responses. I love to add value to the previous days learning and delight in seeing the children's response to the extra level of challenge that has been added to the previous day's observed learning. My TA and I exchange views based on our observations of the day's learning and plan together to meet the learning needs of each child in our planned provision for the next days learning..