1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What are the main golden points schools look for in a demo lesson & lesson plan?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by z_a_39, Jun 16, 2020.

1. z_a_39

z_a_39 New commenter

I am a social science/humanities teacher. Whenever I have done demo lessons and submitted lesson plans at schools, I put my heart and soul into them, making a unique, fun, memorable lesson. Then come the interview/feedback they always say the lesson was interesting, but sub-par because of this, that and the other. Basically it didn't tick the boxes on paper.

My main question, for future interviews I get, is: What are the main golden points schools look for in a demo lesson, and a lesson plan to make sure it ticks all their boxes for you being a brilliant teacher. I know I am a good teacher, but the reason I am not making the cut is because I am not ticking their boxes.

For future lessons/lesson plans, what do I do to make the lesson not just eye-catching, but tick all of the bureaucratic boxes as well?

2. maleprime

maleprime New commenter

It sounds like you are trying to plan and deliver a lesson that is 'all bells and whistles' so to make a good impression at interview which is understandable. Perhaps their feedback to your lesson is based upon this perspective and that schools now may prefer to see lessons which reflect what a teacher would usually deliver on a day to day basis?