1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What are heads looking for on applications??? (primary)

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by 10022576, Jun 28, 2011.

1. I have sent off over 20 applications with no luck!
    Need some guidance asap!
    2 heads have looked at my letter and said its fine.

2. I am in the same boat as you. I have now sent off over 30 with two interviews when I first started applying...and nothing since.
    I have also had two head teachers look over my letter and say that it is good, but this clearly isn't enough! I have been told that it is because I am a supply teacher by one head teacher at a school I applied to :(

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

You both talk about 'my letter' singular. This could well be the cause of your problem if you just have the one generic, however painstakingly constructed, letter.

Look at the person spec for a post and tailor your letter to it perfectly. Whatever they mention; show that you have it. Yes it takes time, but it is the only way to give yourself a chance of an interview in the current climate.

Also include an executive summary, so doing the shortlisting panel's job for them. They will love you for it.

Read the clickables on the welcome thread here for all other kinds of advice.

4. Yes, I talk about it in the singular because I have only sent one to the head teachers - don't think they would appreciate reading each one of them.
    I agree with what you are saying and I do tailor it, but I'm clearly not doing it in the right way.
    I have tried including ES, but it is still not getting me anywhere!
    I read Theo's clickables everytime I write a statement....