1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Were you taught English well when YOU were at school?

Discussion in 'English' started by 80KSharp, Mar 28, 2011.

1. I'm a year 6 teacher and seem to spend ALL of my time either researching, planning or teaching what I think are really exciting English lessons. Thinking back to the eighties though, when I was at Primary school, I'm not sure that my teachers did the same. I vaguely remember having a text book of grammar exercises to work through day after day- I don't ever remember my teacher actually teaching.
    What do you guys think? Did our primary teachers work as hard as we do now?

2. gruoch

gruoch New commenter

None of my teachers had the NC to contend with. Lots of learning by rote a junior school - and I know my tables backwards.
    Lots of spellings.
    Lots of handwriting practice.
    Oodles of reading for pleasure. Comprehension was something quite different.
    Dictation. I'm going to re-instate dictation.

3. inky

inky Lead commenter

As long as it's differentiated, I'm a great believer in dictation.

4. markuss

markuss Occasional commenter

Primary. We did arithmetic, English, nature study, scripture, handicrafts, bit of sport and a bit of country dancing (which I hated). Can't remember anything you'd call history or geography or science. Oh, yes, a bit of drawing and painting.
    English was reading fiction and writing stories mainly. Bit of drama. We learned how to act out "The Highwayman" when HMI were coming in but they never saw it.
    Not much was made of the 11+ but we did practise it once.