1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Well cheers then!

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Mrsmumbles, Aug 23, 2019.

1. Mrsmumbles

Mrsmumbles Star commenter

Logged in to TES and a pop up leaps up. Says TES has some grrrrreat job matches for me! So, sceptically, I clicked.
    All the first page were two counties out. And the jobs were for sanitary technicians and learning support IT technicians.
    I have 20+ years of teaching experience, a BA, MA and a PGCE.
    Cheers then!

2. nomad

nomad Star commenter

Nothing about Russian girls who want to marry you or penis enlargements then?

;)

3. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

Doesn't surprise me. Try using any job site and specify within 10 miles of your postcode and you still get jobs from Truro, Tring and Tripoli.

4. nizebaby

nizebaby Star commenter

I'm a retired primary teacher who did eng lit at university. Why, then, was I not thrilled to be offered a head of science post recently?

5. nomad

nomad Star commenter

I am retired too. One suggestion for me today is that I take on a job as Modern Foreign Languages tutor for Polish and German, two languages of which I know nothing!

I speak Bahasa Indonesia and some Arabic but no - nothing doing there!

6. Ivartheboneless

Ivartheboneless Star commenter

I thought I'd click on it out of curiosity. Somehow it knows to show me "science" but five jobs all in London, one of which is a technician, and as far as I am aware I have never filled anything in. I'm retired too (for three years) and live in North Wales. It must be that IDS bloke (sounds like a disease) on his pension bandwagon again. I never was a "science" teacher, and chemistry is the worst of them for me.