1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

weighty issue?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by someonelikeme, May 1, 2011.

1. i tried to post this on opinion too but the moderating msg came up so thought i'd try here...

Something was said to me yesterday by a person who I respect and value their opinion. Its been on my mind every since and is really bugging me hence why I have come on here to ask other people's opinions (this is a genuine post, I am a regular on tes but have signed with a new log in as people offline know who I am with my normal username).

Ok so, a bit of background - I am a supply teacher completed nqt year last year, have applied for 8 jobs and had 6 interviews since and haven't been successful yet, when asking for feedback I've not been given much to go on apart from the first one which said I was very nervous, the others have been that I interviewed well, had a great lesson but there was only one post and they chose the other person. I've been content enough with this as I know how tough the job market is just now. That is until yesterday when this person suggested that the reason I may not be successful in gaining a job is due to my weight. I am 5'3, 15st 10, and size 18.. yes I know its not good for my health etc despite my size I am very active and have recent experience of playing/coaching netball, but its the binge eating sugar/fastfood etc that lets me down (though in school I eat very healthily salads, water, fruit etc.. Its at home when I do it, though that is a whole other post entirely.