1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Was my mentor allowed to do this?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by FlyingFoxBat, Feb 11, 2016.

1. FlyingFoxBat

FlyingFoxBat New commenter

Hi.
    I've been advised to move this post to the Workplace Dilemmas section because it's more likely to be seen here.

I'm a pre-service trainee Further Education teacher. I know this question might seem a little strange, but here goes...

On my last placement, my mentor would often go home early while I was teaching the class (this would have been his final class of the day if I wasn't teaching it for my placement. Plus, because I'm pre-service, my mentor was paid for teaching this class.)

Anyway, I've talked to some school teachers I know and they think my mentor was 'breaking the rules' by doing this, as they were required to remain on site (though not necessarily in the classroom) while trainees taught their usual classes. However, because I'm training to work in Further Education, I'm not sure whether or not the same protocol applies.

I haven't asked anyone at college because they would probably make the connection or ask awkward questions, and, despite having a few issues with him, I don't really want to get him into trouble. If anyone asks me about my mentor going home early, I'm not sure how to answer. I had planned to play dumb and say something along the lines of "I don't think so'', but then I thought that this (leaving early) might be permitted if mentors informs their trainees that they won't be around during that session time. If that's the case, I'd need to say that he always informed me when he needed to go home early.