1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wardrobe tips for a new (trainee) teacher

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by labtech28, Jun 4, 2011.

1. labtech28

labtech28 New commenter

the bit of advice that always got me through training was dress up for parents, as it aids your 'presence' and makes you seem like a source of authority. i would probably look to take this through to the class room.
    sorry i cant be of more help but I'm an UPLS trainee teacher in a primary setting at the moment so bit out of touch with secondary. :) hope it all goes well.
    Labtech28

2. I think there'll be some variation amongst schools, but for our school it'd be suits and smart trousers and tops. For shoes, bear in mind that you'll be on your feet an awful lot and for that reason many seem to wear flat shoes or have a pair ready. I wouldn't have thought bare legs were appropriate, but perhaps that's personal preference. The big thing is to make sure your clothes fit well and are appropriate(!)

3. Two brief points:
    1. Flat shoes can be the devil. They often offer no arch support. Try things on, go stomping around the shop and be prepared to spend a bit of money if not having feet and legs in pain is your thing. Wedge shoes are good for height (I'm 5'4" and most of the male students tower above me and many of the girls do too!) whilst offering decent support.