1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wanting to teach in USA from UK.

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by PhoebeHorton, Nov 16, 2019.

1. phoeborose

phoeborose New commenter

I am currently in my second year as a qualified primary school teacher in England. I completed a 4 Year MEd Primary Education degree and now have my QTS. During my training, I completed semester abroad teaching in South Carolina, USA. I loved the experience and have been determined to return since. I want to teach the elementary age range in the States for a temporary period (a year or two) ideally in a southern state. I would be moving by myself, hopefully for the 2020 school year.

I understand that each state has its own requirements and that the visa process is difficult. However, I wondered if anyone had made this move and had any suggestions of a starting place? I've looked into companies that supposedly support teachers wanting to do this - is there anyone with recommendations of one to use? Or just any general advice moving from the UK to US as a teacher?

Thank you in advance!

2. RainbowWings

RainbowWings New commenter

If you want to teach in the US for a temporary period then an exchange programme is your best bet - if they exist.