1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wanting to Return to the UK to teach.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by bessecar, Oct 29, 2015.

1. bessecar

bessecar New commenter

I am a 59 year old teacher with 30 years experience in teaching, 28 years of which have been teaching O level English Language and Literature to Class VIII to XI Pakistani students in a private school. I have married here in Pakistan to a local who is a Headmistress of the Pre Primary section in the same school.

Since I cannot get citizenship status here in Pakistan, I want to move back to Britain with my wife. I graduated with a B.Ed in 1980. What are my chances of getting a job? Do I have to retrain? Is my age a possible barrier?

2. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

I believe you will be treated as an overseas teacher. To work in a LA maintained school in England you will need to gain QTS (Qualified Teacher Status) via the QTS skills tests. You may well find that a free school or academy will employ you as an unqualified teacher as they are not bound by the same rules as local authority maintained schools in England. Different rules apply in Scotland.

For more information you could look on the 'Overseas Trained Teachers' forum.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

B.Ed in 1980? From a UK University? Then you probably have QTS or at the very least a Teacher Number.

Try asking here with very precise details of your qualification.

qts.enquiries@education.gsi.gov.uk

Best wishes

4. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter