1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wanting to give up PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by BowsAndBats, Jun 13, 2017.

1. BowsAndBats

BowsAndBats New commenter

This is my first time posting on here but really wanted some help and advice.
    I am on my second to last week of my final primary pgce placement. My final observation is next week with the deputy head and my link tutor from university. They will give me my final grade and write up my report.
    I do not feel anywhere near ready or good enough to pass. I had a really terrible first placement where I received no support and basically had to teach myself everything.
    This placement has been so much better. I am in a year 1 class with an amazing teacher and one of my best friends is the teacher in the other year 1 class.
    I do feel however that the reason I have got this far and passed so many observations was because my class teacher was observing alone and was being quite understanding of me. I am left alone to teach now so I can't ask her for feedback on my lessons, she just checks my planning and gives advice.
    As I had such a bad first placement I feel really behind and that this is my first placement. I have had to learn everything in 9 weeks. I just don't feel good enough. My class teacher has given me 'good' for every standard but my differentiation is poor and I find it hard to structure my lessons. She tells me that it something that will come with experience but I need to be good to pass my final observation.