1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wanting to become SENDCO

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by emie2203, Apr 22, 2016.

1. emie2203

emie2203 New commenter

Hi all!
    I'm pretty new to the whole teaching game and I was just wanting some advice on becoming SENDCO. I'm currently working long term supply cover in a Special Needs School and I'm wanting to take my first steps towards becoming SENDCO.
    I'm going into my third year of teaching and I'm hoping to either stay on at the school or to move on to another SEN School/ A SEN base in a mainstream school.
    How long do I need to be in teaching before I even consider applying? Do I need additional qualifications or are they just desirable?
    I feel my age is going to be a big issue in this step as I'm incredibly young and I feel I won't be taken seriously when it comes to interviews. Any tips?

I hope you're all having a lovely Friday!

2. mrmatt73

mrmatt73 Occasional commenter

As a starting point, ask yourself the question: "Why do I want to become a SENCO ?"

3. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter