1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wanting to be a deputy but not a head

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by whowhatwhy, Mar 25, 2012.

1. I have been teaching for 5 years and am currently in post as a senior teacher. I have been on various leadership courses and thought long and hard recently about my career, coming to the conclusion that I would like to be a deputy but not become a head.
    I enjoy being part of SLT and shaping the future of the school and evaluating impact of teaching and learning on children. I have enjoyed the increased responsibilities that come with SLT however, I feel that being a head and having ultimate responsililty for school would be something that I do not want in the future.
    I realise that as a deputy I would need to step up as the headteacher and I have done this as part of my current role on a few occasions, but the budgeting/various staffing issues/exclusions/politics/etc... are parts of the role as headteacher that I would not like and I don't think I would be good at.
    I am wondering what a school would think to appointing a deputy who did not want to become a headteacher? I also realise that as I progress in my career I may change my mind and I have many people who see leadership potential in me and believe I should be a headteacher, but I want to do it because I want to, not because others believe I should!
    Sorry for the rambling post - any advice or experiences would be welcomed.

2. R13

R13 New commenter