1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Want to leave teaching

Discussion in 'Personal' started by TeamCooper, Dec 2, 2019 at 6:16 PM.

1. TeamCooper

TeamCooper New commenter

Hi

Anyone know of any websites that skills match please? I am HOD and can no longer take the constant scrutiny, advisory service (that doesn’t advise only criticises), the 60 hour week, the list goes on. I have been a teacher for 16 years and still love teaching, but I need to explore something else now because my mental state is suffering. Thanks

2. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

You might be better re-posting this (and searching previous threads) in the Workplace Dilemmas forum, where the leaving teaching query is very much a hoary old chestnut.

nomad, Jamvic and monicabilongame like this.
  3. Nellyfuf2

Nellyfuf2 Established commenter

Hope you find the courage to leave.
    There are lots of things to do. Work to be done.. all that.
    Hate to hear about teachers suffering. With it comes that downward spiral that makes you think you can't do anything else!

Jamvic and BertieBassett2 like this.
  4. stopwatch

stopwatch Established commenter

I was in a similar situation after 21 years of teaching. I found a job overseas and things were a lot better - stayed there for 17 years.
    Perhaps consider this option.

Jamvic likes this.
  5. Nellyfuf2

Nellyfuf2 Established commenter

It is not just teaching though. My friend has left Speech and Language Therapy. She was passionate about re training for SLT - she was a Medical Physicist. She has left SLT to be
    ..... a post person.
    Because the **** of the system had ground her down. And she likes walking.

6. Mrsmumbles