1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Want to give the ITTs a good experience ...

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by piglettuppydog, Jan 18, 2011.

1. I have just been given the role of developing ITT and NQT provision and CPD in the school. I have never done this before and wondered what sort of good practice other schools are doing and what, as ITTs you would want from your senior/professional mentors? I really want to put together an excellent programme for them and ensure they feel supported and guided.
    Please could anybody share ideas/experiences?

2. Sorry, I should have said I am in the secondary sector.

3. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

I am the professional mentor in my school, and one of the first things I did was find the money for netbooks for them. We require our teachers to do registers in SIMS, and without computers in every classroom, this was impossible - so I attached some of the funding that we get for having them to allow me to loan thm a netbook whilst they're with us. It means everyone gets a little less, but they feel more part of things.
    I also:
    • insist that they have proper school ID badges which say their name and dept and NOT "trainee" or "student". I made the Ass. Head redo one after he put forename surname student teacher on one recently.
    • insist that they havea pigeonhole like the rest of us
    • put their photos in the staffroom and school office so that people know who they are are why they're here - this was after a request from admin staff who didn't know who everyone was!