1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Walking out of class

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by pegwell23, Nov 9, 2013.

1. I walked out of my year 8 girls class today. I'm a trainee teacher in my 2nd year (approached by SLT from support role & finishing my degree). My first year was tough but got through it. This year is destroying me. I have no consistency with classrooms and teach all round the school. My yr 8 girls have 6 different classrooms throughout their 2 week timetable. I had them last year and they were manageable but then they, and I was, based in the same classroom. Behaviour has spiralled and learning has stopped. I've lost the battle! I spoke to my hod about my concerns last term. They offered a suggestion of a seating plan for each and every classroom we are in. The students speak to me with such hate. I couldn't take it anymore today and walked out.

Ive never been observed, except by ofsted where I got a good. The department has provided very little support and no mentoring. I'm worn out by moving around the school between lessons, missing breaks and some days lunch too.

Is the battle to get the yr 8 class back on track worth the battle or am I being taken for a ride by the school?