1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

walking on eggshells?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Happyregardless, Mar 1, 2014.

1. Happyregardless

Happyregardless Occasional commenter

I'm a primary teacher with 14 years experience that has taught in some tough schools, but tries to maintain positive behavioural techniques etc.

I'm feeling a little like I'm 'walking on eggshells' at present. Parents at my school can be difficult - that's not just my own personal opinion - I was 'warned' about they way parents are at this school and thought staff were overacting when I first started here, but now understand what they mean. I've been grateful for such supportive colleagues and SLT on occasion when meeting parents. Colleagues have also told me 'don't worry about them (parents) as it seems to be common knowledge that they will 'have a go' at anyone they perceive to be 'new' to the school? Another teacher with similar years experience was insulted in a derogatory way along the lines of ' Just a newly qualified teacher' ( and no disrespect to NQTS) but this is what parent said, simply because they were new to THEIR school. I am quite sensitive - I do need a better work-life balance and tend to ruminate on things said at work/take comments home with me.