1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

W- or W+ boson

Discussion in 'Science' started by Orion, Dec 18, 2011.

1. Orion

Orion New commenter

Here is a question I have searched low and high for and I cannot seem to find an answer. When looking at Feynman diagrams for AQA AS I have an issue that when you look at electron capture why use the W+ boson instead of W- when looking at a proton-electron collision.
    When you look at cons of charge etc.. the electron capture is wrong with W+
    The answer I got from the textbook is simply that p-e collision is high energy so W- is used so not convincing!
    Any ideas, this is a self taught topic that I never did at Uni so I am a bit blind.
    Also I need an AS answer as to why this is, as all the others can be reasoned out with cons of charge/mass etc..
    Thanks

2. AshgarMary

AshgarMary New commenter

Does this help you at all?

http://www.cyberphysics.co.uk/topics/particle/feynman.htm#electron capture

MANY years (28!) since I looked at this, so I really need to brush it up! Thanks for bringing to my attention, but anyway, here goes:

BEFORE : proton + electron (overall charge neutral)

Step 1: proton changes to neutron and releases W+ boson -> neutron + (W+) + electron (overall charge neutral)

Step 2: boson and electron combine and form neutrino -> neutron + neutrino (overall charge neutral)

PS If I have misremembered please be gentle, as I say, it's been a LONG time!

3. Word of warning -if you are using the AQA AS physics book by Jim Breithaupt there are errors in the Feynman diagrams & descriptions. There ia also some unhelpful 'vagueness' when the book deals with muons. Use another source to help you teach.