1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Voluntary work to complete NQT year...

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by tromboneman1971, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Hi,

I don't know if anyone can answer this question?

In June 2009 I gained my PGCE but have struggled to obtain a full time position ever since. (I am a secondary music teacher).
    I am now in a position to be able to offer my time, for free, in order to complete my NQT year.
    However, I thought I would ring the TDA helpline in order to confirm if this is possible. I was told that it is not permitted under current regulations.
    I asked for a copy of the current regulations where it details that voluntary completion of the NQT year is not allowed.
    Needless to say, this has proved more challenging for the team at the TDA helpline than they first thought!
    I was promised a response (on email) by the end of last week but it was not forthcoming.
    I just wondered if anyone out there has encountered this situation before and what response I am likely to get from the TDA helpline, eventually!

Thanks.

2. Hi,

I don't know if anyone can answer this question?

In June 2009 I gained my PGCE but have struggled to obtain a full time position ever since. (I am a secondary music teacher).
    I am now in a position to be able to offer my time, for free, in order to complete my NQT year.
    However, I thought I would ring the TDA helpline in order to confirm if this is possible. I was told that it is not permitted under current regulations.
    I asked for a copy of the current regulations where it details that voluntary completion of the NQT year is not allowed.