1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Voluntary work overseas from Sept

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by sabaticalgirl, May 19, 2011.

1. sabaticalgirl

sabaticalgirl New commenter

I've got some sabatical leave from my job and am looking to do some voluntary work overseas, probably Africa, from September time. Does anyone have any suggestions on organisations to try? Or info on possible work available? I am a secondary Science teacher, but open to any sort of voluntary work in education or community work. Probably for 3-6 months.
    Thanks!

2. There are dozens of organisations that you could contact in Nairobi just look on the web. There also alot of teaching projects in Kibera (biggist slum in sub-saharan africa). I have many friends who participated in projects in Kibera and all found it very rewarding.I am sure your skills would be greatly appreciated. It would be quite possible to just turn up in Nairobi and find projects to work on too. Many people do this,

3. Sorry to add to my previous post : I was reffering mainly to educational projects but there are also many orphange projects to work with as well. A couple of american lads worked at an orphanage 400 metres down the road from Millimani Backpackers in Nairobi. So this was great as they had budget accommodation near the project. I volunteered for a week with them and its a case of just turn up and lend a hand. The particular orphange im talking about was for under 4s and there were many babys. My time there was limited volunteering but it was rewarding. I can find out the name for you if you like?

4. Have you had a look at www.vso.org.uk