1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Visa/work advice for partner of teacher

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by annieniamh, Mar 22, 2017.

1. annieniamh

annieniamh New commenter

Hi all,
    I'm greatly in need of advice!
    Me and my partner are looking to move abroad for a year and have settled on the idea of Vietnam. One problem: I am a qualified teacher and have 3 years experience. He, however, is not in a transferable profession and I'm worried he won't be able to get a visa to stay more than 3/6 months.
    Is anyone in a similar situation? Can you shed some light on our options?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Your first issue is your time frame. Good schools require a minimum two year commitment and a mindset that two years will turn into more if there is a reasonable match.
    Beyond that, good schools will get a visa for your husband, if you're married. For a boyfriend, it's not so clear cut and you may indeed end up with issues that make it hard for him to join you.
    You're also limiting yourself severely by sticking to one country. Why? There are only a handful of schools and no guarantee one will end up having and offering a job for you.

ejclibrarian likes this.
  3. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

I agree with gulfgolf. You're unlikely to get any jobs if you're only willing to commit to a year. Schools that you would actually want to work in are looking for a minimum two year commitment.