1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Violence and Swaring in the EYFS

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by emilyelizabethstarkey, Dec 7, 2011.

1. I am an NQT and in January will have my first ever class of my own. I am so excited but there is one worry that I have....
    My worry comes in the form of a child, a child who, when visiting the school, drove the TA to tears. I am yet to learn more about this child but from what I am aware he has 'good and bad days', no kind of support in school, a mother who passes the blame, and a lot of anger.
    I have no experience in dealing with violent children and so would like to go in, in January, with a clear plan of action in my mind. I think at the moment when he is violent his mother is called to come for him but i am unsure how the current teacher deals with his disruptive behaviour and swearing. He does seem to have friends and get along with the other children and enjoy himself at school but then, most days, something will happen and he will kick off.
    I fear for the safety of the class and my TA and the child himself. I hope to chat to the EYFS leader and maybe the Head about him some more before I start as I feel it is only a matter of time before he will seriously injure himself or someone else.
    I'm not really sure though, what to expect from the school. It seems to me like he needs some kind of behavioural expert but then why has this not been done already? Where do I stand? Do I have the right to demand more support than is currently available?
    Any help would be much appreciated!

2. I am an NQT and in January will have my first ever class of my own. I am so excited but there is one worry that I have....