1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Very, very mixed ability class. Advice needed...

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by Kamol, Dec 8, 2011.

1. Dear all,

I teach French to a class of 18 year 10s. All of them are EAL, some of them quite severly. In this class, I have a near-native speaker, a couple of very high-achieving kids, 3 total beginners, and pretty much every possible level in the middle. It's not my first year teaching mixed ability and I have lots of strategies to make sure that every one can access the subject at their own level and pace. With a similar group last year I obtained excellent results, but this group is proving quite challenging.

Is anybody in a similar situation? Are there any strategies that have helped you?

Thank you for any advice you'd be willing to share!

2. Dear all,

I teach French to a class of 18 year 10s. All of them are EAL, some of them quite severly. In this class, I have a near-native speaker, a couple of very high-achieving kids, 3 total beginners, and pretty much every possible level in the middle. It's not my first year teaching mixed ability and I have lots of strategies to make sure that every one can access the subject at their own level and pace. With a similar group last year I obtained excellent results, but this group is proving quite challenging.

Is anybody in a similar situation? Are there any strategies that have helped you?

Thank you for any advice you'd be willing to share!

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter