1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Very difficult head of faculty

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by princessclairey, Jan 16, 2016.

1. princessclairey

princessclairey New commenter

hi everyone

I've been working in a school now for 2 years and though it started well, my head of faculty has since revealed herself to be completely awful. Although it's not just her (the school is part of an academy chain and I'm having a lot of trouble with their ethos, the workload placed on staff, mocksteds etc), she is the one causing me a horrendous amount of stress. Things went from bad to worse when I became the union rep in order to have the training, knowledge etc to stick up for myself and the rest of the staff.

I'm usually a fighter but this is really getting me down. I've been teaching 6 years and at my last job I never had any of the issues I'm having now. I know I'm not the terrible teacher they are trying to make me out to be. I have always had great lesson observations and always progressed up the pay scale, but now - although the exam board reports me as giving the students a "challenging and enriching" education based on the evidence of their coursework / DVD I had to send in - I've 'failed' my mocksted, failed to achieve my (very unfair) appraisal objectives and my head of faculty will find anything and everything to pick at me for. Something comes up every day and I just don't feel I can fight it any more.