1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

VERY concerned about the way things are done in my primary school

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jondabell, Jan 22, 2012.

1. jondabell

jondabell New commenter

Hi,
    I want some honest advice on exactly how bad the practice is that I am about to describe. I'm torn whether or not to inform my union about this as it is making my job impossible and affecting my home life and personal health.
    OK, so I work in a primary school in Year 5. I'm fairly new to the school, but I'm not new to teaching. I've got 13 years under my belt in three other schools. I've never seen anything like this.
    The school boost Year 6's in Literacy and Maths ready for their SATS. The boosting starts tomorrow. But instead of setting up booster groups after school, or using available staff to divide the Year 6's into groups, they go about it in an insane way. Every class teacher from Y3 to Y5 comes out of their own timetabled maths lessons every day of the week and takes a small group of Year 6s. That teacher's own class are left with a TA who delivers work left by the class teacher. This arrangement exists every day from now until the start of SATs week, so in effect 4 months!! In other words, the Y3, Y4 and Y5 teachers do not teach their own children maths at all for four months. TAs do it instead.