1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

verbal punchbag/parents

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Happyregardless, Nov 26, 2015.

1. Happyregardless

Happyregardless Occasional commenter

Am being a little paranoid and after over 18 years of good teaching, I've brushed off most parental comments like proverbial....'dust!
    I am a supply teacher and on longer term placement (leaving soon :) )

The staff are great there, really supportive and the children/ethos of school overall are okay. I was there covering a different teacher a while back and no problems whatsoever.

This time, from the word go I have literally been 'demonised' by parents? Usually, I would go and 'meet and greet' or at least stand out by the door as parents come in and also when the kids leave to show a presence etc? Due to the 'atmosphere' and what I've been subjected too during this placement, I have to admit I've avoided 'showing my face' because of the perceived 'hostility' that AND the children being old enough to go home alone etc...

One of SM phones parents if anything and it's kind of seen as though, ' she has to phone them for me' - or maybe this is just how she sees it. She is lovely, but equally I've overheard her saying to the HT, " yes but she doesn't have children.. etc" - referring to me,as I don't have my own family, kind of insinuating that I don't really know how to treat the children because I'm not a mum" which I've had in so many different formats from society at large and everywhere anyway I usually just shrug off as "someone else's perception" now? I could 'choose' to be insulted by it, but overall, it's more like 'let them think what they like'