1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Venezuela Vs Kuala Lumpur

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by mob26, Jun 17, 2015.

• Hi everyone, I'm a secondary Science/Maths teacher considering about taking a job in Valencia, Venezuela.The pay looks good considering the low tax rate.However I am concerned whether it is safe to teach out there.It seems that it would be difficult to travel around without an organised tour group.
    • Secondly, if I moved over, my partner would be coming with me. He is an intelligent guy and a qualified construction teacher. He was considering looking for TEFL work, but we've read some pretty miserable things about the pay and we're finding it hard to find work in that field. He has a BA in construction and technology education so he is quite employable in other fields, but we're not sure what sort of job he could get. Does anyone have partners/friends doing TEFL or other jobs that could shed any light on this? If anyone has any advice at all about teaching in Venezuela , including what it's actually like overall (i.e. is there as much work to take home as I get here in the UK!) then I'd really like to hear from you.
    • We have been offered two jobs in an international school outside Kuala Lumpur.We both have over 10 years experience, but I’m not sure if schools take that into consideration. I read on a previous post that the pay is disappointing and you are taxed at a high rate.I also read that if you leave the country for over 14 days you may have to pay a higher rate of tax.
    • If you could advise me about which would be the better option I would really appreciate it.