1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Vegetarian recipes for slow cooker

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by lucyrose50, Nov 10, 2011.

1. lucyrose50

lucyrose50 Occasional commenter

I've just bought a slow cooker (£9 from Tesco, seemed silly not to!) with the vague idea of using dried beans and suchlike more often in my cooking, but now I've got it home it's sitting there looking at me and I'm not sure where to start with it. I'm a pretty experienced cook, I can make all sorts of meals whether from recipes or making it up as I go along, but I've not used a slow cooker before - I understand the basic principles of how to use it though. I've had a look at some recipe books but I can't find any that are vegetarian so there's no point me buying something where I'd only use the token veggie chapter.There are some veggie slow cooker books on Amazon but they've all got quite contradictory reviews so I'm reluctant to buy one without seeing it. Has anyone got one they'd recommend? I'm really after recipes that I can chuck together in the slow cooker and just switch it on, if I'm going to have to cook bits of it separately then I may as well just do it in a pan as normal. Something I did notice was that a lot of the recipes in the books I saw were for things that I could make really quickly and easily in an ordinary pan so I don't really see the point in using a slow cooker. Fair enough for things that actually require long cooking on a low heat (or taste better like that), but pasta sauce with tinned tomatoes, in a slow cooker? Seriously?! I could make that in 10 minutes on the hob!
    Cheers for any tips or recommendations.