1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Value added - Who is responsible?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by twiggybear, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Hi I am currently studying a MA in education and have been researching value added models for further education currently utilised in the UK. As a teaching professional myself predicting a student achievement level is a task I encounter on a daily basis. In America VA models have been employed for a number of years. Here it has been argued that pay scales, incentives and consequences should be set holding academic staff responsible for overall success rates. What do you feel about this? Do you think other factors influence overall student success rates?
    Are we ready to be challenged? – What do you feel would be the consequences?
    I would really appreciate your input!
    Thanks!

2. Hi I am currently studying a MA in education and have been researching value added models for further education currently utilised in the UK. As a teaching professional myself predicting a student achievement level is a task I encounter on a daily basis. In America VA models have been employed for a number of years. Here it has been argued that pay scales, incentives and consequences should be set holding academic staff responsible for overall success rates. What do you feel about this? Do you think other factors influence overall student success rates?
    Are we ready to be challenged? – What do you feel would be the consequences?
    I would really appreciate your input!
    Thanks!

3. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter