1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Use of Mindfulness, Meditation and Yoga

Discussion in 'Personal' started by becks014, Jun 22, 2019.

1. becks014

becks014 New commenter

Hi there,

I'm a fully qualified teacher but I'm currently completing a Masters in Psychology in Education at the University of York.

I'm working on my Master's dissertation looking at 'Teachers' Perceptions of Using Mindfulness, Meditation and Yoga to Improve Student Wellbeing'. It's a really important topic considering the prevalence of mental health problems in children and adolescents.

I'd be really grateful if any teachers or trainee teachers could spare 5-10 mins to fill in my online survey!

Here is the link:

https://york.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_4T5BnjnYduSF6xn

Thank you in advance, I really appreciate it!. [​IMG]:)

2. nizebaby

nizebaby Star commenter

I'm sorry, but ever since I read an article about how to go on a mindful walk, I've been unable to take mindfulness seriously. Ditto Christmas dinner.

magic surf bus likes this.
  3. NoseyMatronType

NoseyMatronType Star commenter

I have completed the survey but you may be surprised by my views that I am also willing to state here: I know from personal experience that Mindfulness and other contemplative practices can help people to successfully manage psychological stress and chronic health conditions.

However, meditation practices can also induce dissociative states and other unusual states of mind. Teachers may be unaware of this and those training them often lack sufficient experience to be doing what they are doing.