1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Use of Calculator age 6

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by loopyk8, Sep 1, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I am a secondary science teacher, my daughter has been requested to have a calculator for P2 (we live in Scotland). I am very concerned about this and when I checked with her teacher I was assured it would just be "used for checking".

I plan to meet with the head teacher to discuss this as I feel it is not appropriate for her to use a simple calculator at her stage, she needs the basics first like old fashioned tables and mental skills, am I being old fashioned? I think I need some advice

1) has any research been done of use of calculators in early years?
    2) what situations would a calculator be of benefit to her learning?
    3) how would a teacher manage this in class? I have a class set of simple calculators in my room which are used frequently but I am struggling to visualise twenty 5 & 6 year olds with different models checking work accurately - ?

Thanks for any views

loopy

2. DM

DM New commenter

[​IMG]

You could try the Scottish Secondary Forum too.

3. loopyk8, there are two ways to think of calculator use for this age group:
    1) As a tool to explore operations. For instance, investigating what happens when you add odd and even numbers together. Here, the possible learning outcomes are broader than just worrying about can the pupils add the numbers together.
    2) As a support to help those students who struggle with simple operations and so can't access all the curriculum. This is, sort of, the idea behind using the calculator to check calculations.