1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Urgent: Transferring into Special Needs Education

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by ellenlilymay, Nov 29, 2017.

1. ellenlilymay

ellenlilymay New commenter

Hi - this is an urgent and desperate plea for your advice if poss please.

I'm an older teacher who needs (and wants) to continue working for another six years in an interesting educational area. I urgently need to find a new direction within Education which I could develop fully and gain expertise for the rest of my career and working life, as (despite an apparent "national shortage" of MFL teachers) I'm completely unable to find work in my current subject area (French) as I do not have a second language and it would take too long to acquire proficiency/quals in one.

I would be keen to use my varied and extensive (secondary, post-16, even HE) teaching experience to get into some area of Special Needs Education in the post-16 or secondary sector (although would undoubtedly enjoy primary more however sadly I have no primary experience).

I have looked at getting a job first, as people have kindly suggested, but these clearly state that they already require SEN experience and so am thinking I would need to do a qualification of some kind fairly urgently or some other method of convincing future employers.

I would be grateful if anyone who is in SEN support or teaching let me know how they made the transfer into SEN. I have 2 family members with autism for example and appreciate first-hand some of the difficulties but otherwise would also be grateful to know from you where there may be the most demand hence the most work for an older person.

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter