1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Urgent: daily supply, paid by agy - furloughing

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by ellenlilymay, Apr 25, 2020.

1. ellenlilymay

ellenlilymay New commenter

Hi everyone - I hope you are all well.

I am a daily supply teacher, not on any short- or long-term assignment and paid by my agency direct, who take a small % of my wages for admin. I'm quite happy with this arrangement and they are a good agency, at least until now. I am not paid by them through an umbrella company.

I've contacted them about being furloughed and they've sent me a link which I've not opened yet but can anyone tell me what I would be letting myself in for, as a daily supply, as regards furloughing? I feel I need to sort this asap. At the current time obviously I have very little income.

I don't want to be tied or pressured to going back to working for them before I feel the time is right, as I am an older teacher with an underlying condition. I'd prefer to decide for myself when it is safe having assessed the risks.

Does anyone have any experience of daily supply and furloughing and what it entails? Apologies if this question has been asked already. Please explain to me as if I am a 4-year-old!!! Many thanks indeed!

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi

This is so very complicated and there are at least three thread started on it on this forum. You can see almost 100 people have viewed your question and no one knows!

If I were you, I would glance through some of these threads.

Start with the link from your umbrella company as that will explain their position.