1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Urgent advice please

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Honeydew, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Honeydew

Honeydew New commenter

I am a private tutor teaching GCSE English Language to three 15/16 year olds who are working at a level 2/3.
    I am going through the basics of grammar (capital letters, simple sentences, complex sentences, etc). Can anyone please give me some advice on how to approach this? I feel out of my depth. Are there are textbooks you could recommend? i often find that they forget to apply what they have learnt in their sessions with me - they don't apply the rules although they have been taught about them and completed worksheets.
    Any kind advice would be gratefully received.

2. Honeydew

Honeydew New commenter

I am a private tutor teaching GCSE English Language to three 15/16 year olds who are working at a level 2/3.
    I am going through the basics of grammar (capital letters, simple sentences, complex sentences, etc). Can anyone please give me some advice on how to approach this? I feel out of my depth. Are there are textbooks you could recommend? i often find that they forget to apply what they have learnt in their sessions with me - they don't apply the rules although they have been taught about them and completed worksheets.
    Any kind advice would be gratefully received.

3. Mrs_Frog

Mrs_Frog New commenter

I take it thats NC levels 2-3?
    Entry Level English or Functional Skills as opposed to GCSE?
    A GCSE is very difficult for pupils who are working at the levels you have stated, if my understanding is correct, and very difficult for them to gain recognition for the work that they have done.
    B x

4. Hello,