1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Urgent advice needed

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by ellenlilymay, Nov 3, 2018.

1. ellenlilymay

ellenlilymay New commenter

Hi all. I really really need your frank advice on how to continue surviving as a supply teacher with no sanctions and an untenable level of rudeness encountered every day.

I've been doing supply now for two years because of sheer necessity. I had taught post-16 for donkey's years but was made redundant in my subject which always attracts low numbers, so have had to do general daily secondary supply. Despite taking in all sorts of guidance online on behaviour management over this summer, and applying these strategies, I still get rudeness and challenging behaviour in class. Does everyone else get this? I really need your advice.

This last week, for example, I had a 2-day booking at a local secondary school and the following behaviour arose which is unfortunately not unusual for me. I'd deeply appreciate your views on this, where I went wrong, and how I could improve.