1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Urgent advice needed. Please help.

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by workymcworkface86, Aug 29, 2019.

1. workymcworkface86

workymcworkface86 New commenter

I've been working as a teacher for several years, initially unqualified until I got my QTS two years ago. I did my NQT year last year but the headteacher, who was my mentor, made things a bit difficult. My initial observation (first term) went very well, and I was given some very sparse feedback from it.

She then came into the second observation and stormed out after a few minutes because I wasn't using the textbooks that the school provide. I never got any written feedback, but there was no suggestion that there were any issues aside from the textbooks. I then went into the third term with no targets apart from the ones I received in November (to put children's work on the wall and keep up to date with marking).

My third observation was from a learning walk. The school were freaking out because of the new Ofsted framework, so the head organised learning walks for all subjects. She mentioned in passing that she 'might' come in for longer than the ten minutes promised to the other teachers, then proceeded to stay for 45 minutes in my music lesson with no prior discussion. She also had a boy from Year 3 with her who had been removed from class for bad behaviour. I should say at this point that the music teacher, who had taught the class violin since September, had left a month or so beforehand. This was the third music lesson I had taught in 5 years. I didn't receive any feedback until I eventually approached the assistant head, who forced the issue. The feedback was good.