1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

UQT Observations

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by emmaohwow, Jan 16, 2020.

1. emmaohwow

emmaohwow New commenter

I am an Unqualified Teacher in a Secondary school. I am just curious to find out whether a UQT is and should be observed under the same conditions as a teacher?

Thank you

2. ridleyrumpus

ridleyrumpus Lead commenter

No idea on the rules but I would be surprised if they were not.

3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

I would expect so. The school still needs to be sure the quality of teaching is as it should be.

4. Shedman

Shedman Star commenter

If you're doing a teacher's job then expect a teacher's observation.

5. hhhh

hhhh Lead commenter

But why would they expect an unqualified teacher to be doing a teacher's job? You wouldn't expect a random person (or a student in her first week of medical school)to perform heart surgery, and hold them accountable, would you? If this is a student teacher we're discussing, although they have observations, things are different-admittedly it's a long time since I've mentored, but we would not expect a student to have exactly the same types of observation. If a cover supervisor, again we would not expect the same as a QT. Maybe speak to your union?

BetterNow and emmaohwow like this.
  6. emmaohwow

emmaohwow New commenter