1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

unsure about my future.

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by valiantkate, Oct 6, 2012.

1. I have been teaching since 1978, in FE and also pst 16 in a special school. since September I have been asked to teach a KS 2 class. What a shock, I feel like an alien who has been beamed onto the wrong planet. I am struggling, my two TAs are no help and are positively doing everything they can do to undermine me and my efforts. I am so very unhappy. I feel that I am suffering from stress, vomiting, shaky hands and pounding heart, cant sleep or concentrate, never felt like this before and I do not like it! All my time at home is spent on school work, currently filling in my 'Appraisal' think I will struggle. Anyway, I am 55 and am wondering about taking very early retirement, I am the only waged person in our home and do not have a vast amount of money and zilch saving.
    I would appreciate any advice, experiences you may have had that are similar to mine, have you survived? I am not a 'job snob' and would not care if I fill shelves in ASDA, all I know is that I can not keep up this pace, I am wanting to spend time with my family and see some of the weekend for myself.
    Really at a crossroads here. Val