1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unsupported with Year 9 - what new tactics can I try?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by biodust, May 1, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I have been teaching for 4 years and am generally considered OK at behaviour management - I get the bottom set Yr 11s for example as we manage to scrape through BTEC etc qualifications without too many problems.
    Having said that, I am having huge problemns with a shared Year 9 class. The class has 4 Science teachers (1 period per week per teacher) and are horrific for all. I appriciate this should make me feel better that it's not 'just me', but it doesn't.
    Out of their 4 teachers, the students say they behave well for me and one of their other teachers (who happens to be an AST). My HoD also says that, for them, they are OK for me. They do not behave well - anybody with any sort of standard in the classroom would say that. I know that I would fail an observation with them.
    There is a core group of 8 (6 girls, 2 boys) who are vile and behave like animals. They wander around the room, snatch each other's books, answer back if challeneged, barely do any work unless stood over, shout across the room at each other, ask me if I'm serious when given a negative comment in their planner, swing on chairs etc. I could go on. There are then 10 students who can go either way - they are not as rude as the original 8 but still poorly behaved. On top of that I have a schizophrenic student who has a useless 1:1 (he is not violent but hard work).
    I have tried the following: