1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

unqualified teacher to QTS pay transition?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by roseaidin, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Dear James

I am an unqualified teacher, and have been teaching History of Art A level in a London comprehensive for the last 3 years, at pay scale 6, or £29,088.

Next year I will be doing a QTS with PGCE course in Art, which I am paying for myself. The Head has written to me to say she will place me on Main Scale Point 3 from September 2012, or £29,889, assuming I achieve QTS.

This seems surprising to me as I will have had another year's teaching experience plus intensive training and a qualification yet am virtually on the same salary. It seems to me that pay scale 4, or £32,620 could be more appropriate.

Do you have any thoughts or advice for me on approaching the Head regarding this seeming discrepency? Many thanks, Rose

2. Dear James

I am an unqualified teacher, and have been teaching History of Art A level in a London comprehensive for the last 3 years, at pay scale 6, or £29,088.

Next year I will be doing a QTS with PGCE course in Art, which I am paying for myself. The Head has written to me to say she will place me on Main Scale Point 3 from September 2012, or £29,889, assuming I achieve QTS.

This seems surprising to me as I will have had another year's teaching experience plus intensive training and a qualification yet am virtually on the same salary. It seems to me that pay scale 4, or £32,620 could be more appropriate.

Do you have any thoughts or advice for me on approaching the Head regarding this seeming discrepency? Many thanks, Rose

3. Hi