1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unqualified but highly experienced TA/LSA. What is the equivalent to a level 3?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by supplyTA, Jun 3, 2017.

1. supplyTA

supplyTA New commenter

Hi,
    I've been doing supply TA/LSA work for 3 years come this september, I've always been good at what I do so I've been given lots of opportunities to run interventions, support groups or 1:1, SEN as well as all ranges of ability. However I'm not qualified at level 3 in education. I do have an A level in English Literature and have studies to level 3 in another field. Job specs often ask for level 3 or equivalent. Does anyone know what that equivalent is?

I've also applied to do the level 3 as an apprentice, so as to qualify within a year with the experience of working full time in a primary school for a year. It only pays £100 per week so I don't know if it's worth taking the pay cut or just trying to get a contracted role with my experience?? But then if I carry on unqualified for another year, and the temporary role I'm working in finishes at the end of the academic year (as they often do due to funding) I am in the same boat again, applying for jobs without the usual qualification. Am I at a major disadvantage to those with the level 3 LSA training?

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

https://www.gov.uk/what-different-qualification-levels-mean/list-of-qualification-levels

This link may help.

I always take 'or equivalent' to mean any foreign or less common certification.

3. unfoggingblogger

unfoggingblogger Occasional commenter

Why not go for it as an unqualified teacher? Just ask. Somewhere will bite.

4. grumpydogwoman