1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unpaid INSET for supply staff?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by pryzbylewskir, Feb 13, 2019.

1. pryzbylewskir

pryzbylewskir New commenter

Hello,

Firstly I'd like to apologies for what is going to be quite a long-winded post... being concise never was a strong point of mine. Essentially I'm looking for any thoughts or advice on an issue that has arisen regarding long term supply and pay for additional work outside of normal school hours.

I start with the background to the story. I am in my 4th year of being a qualified and have spent this time moving between temporary jobs, never staying in one place for more than a year. I would love to secure a more permanent position, but the seemingly never ending cycle of cost saving always seems to result in a restructuring of the curriculum that means that come the next academic year I am no longer needed. Whilst I enjoy the part of teaching that involves teaching, the lack of job security and increasing demands of the job are seriously making me consider other career paths... but I digress...