1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Unmanageable workload!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Ivoemma511, Nov 15, 2019.

1. Ivoemma511

Ivoemma511 New commenter

Hi, I am new here, so forgive me for any rookie mistakes! I would just like some advice on how to prioritise the workload, with PGCE work to do, a full timetable, planning, marking (years 7-11), reports, parent communication ( I am a form tutor), lunchtime clubs and meetings...the list goes on. Where does it end! I feel overwhelmed, tired, and wondering what I have signed up for!! Any advice??

agathamorse likes this.
  2. Shedman

Shedman Star commenter

Alas, what you describe is the day to day reality for many teachers. There is some very good advice about reducing workload contained on the threads on these forums but you'll need to search for them. There are also resources and ideas online but yet despite trying to work smarter, the actual teaching you do may only be a half or less of the time you devote to the job.

I found that as I gained experience I could save time by reusing resources from year to year so you're not starting from scratch all the time. Also, planning becomes more straightforward as you get you head around the schemes of work and so on. Copy and paste can ease the burden of reports but much of what you do is beyond your control. New initiatives are at the whim of SLT or other greasy pole climbers and can generate huge amounts of work only to be abandoned after a year or two and then there is the endless data collection and the tedious, time wasting meetings. You also find yourself and the school in the continual state of preparation for an Ofsted visit and that simply wears you down.