1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

unions

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by marineygreeny, Jun 22, 2011.

1. Let's just say Ive been less than satisfied with my union over the last couple of years. I was going to change, but then life issues took a more important role. Things have started to settle down and I've decided I'm too annoyed with them to keep paying them money.

As a Supply Teacher I don't have a inhouse rep, so I have noone to talk to about this. I was wondering if there was anybody who could advise how I go about changing unions and if there is a joining fee on top of annual fees please.

2. jubilee

jubilee Lead commenter

The first thing to do is to contact the subscription department of your current Union and find out whether you can cancel your membership immediately and get a pro-rata refund for any unused part of your year's membership.
    If you can't get a rebate for the unused portion of an annual fee, you might wish to stay put until the next renewal date. Tell them that you will not be renewing and cancel any Direct debit mandate. Then start a subscription with a new Union from the day after the end of yourcurrent subscription year.
    When I last changed Union, I waited until the end of December for one membership to expire and started with another Union from 1st January.
    As a supply teacher who is getting very little work, I now only pay for 0.3 or under rather than the full-time rate.
    You should also be claiming tax relief for the allowable portion of your union fees. The amount you can set against tax varies for each Union, so ask them what it is. You can back claim for 6 years so ask them for a breakdown of what you have paid in each tax year.