1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Union membership?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by elzbells, Apr 27, 2019.

1. elzbells

elzbells New commenter

I currently work full time as a primary school teacher so am a member of NEU teachers union. Can anyone advise whether I will need to remain a member when I finish teaching solely to tutor privately? I have several pupils to which I travel to their home currently, but as of September plan to tutor from home as well. Thanks in advance

2. langteacher

langteacher Occasional commenter

I'm not in a union

3. gainly

gainly Established commenter

I can't imagine why you would want to be in a union.

4. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

In case someone you tutor or their parents makes an allegation against you of inappropriate behaviour?

Ask NEU if you can continue to be a member

digoryvenn likes this.
  5. briancant

briancant Occasional commenter

As a tutor you are no more vulnerable than a member of the public who is exposed to children. Allegations without evidence mean nothing. In a court of law an allegation must be supported by evidence. The reason teachers are vulnerable in schools is management trying to protect themselves, in real life evidence is needed. If you are guilty of nothing then you don't need union support as a tutor. If however you work in the horrible education system we have today then of course you do need one.

6. Rott Weiler