1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Union fees - can we claim some of it back?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by birdstock, Nov 8, 2010.

1. Just a quick and possibly daft question but I'm sure I heard someone in the staffroom talking about being able to claim back a certain percentage of union fees via the lovely people at the tax office. Is it true? I've been paying for 7 years. Sounds too good to be true to me...

2. Just a quick and possibly daft question but I'm sure I heard someone in the staffroom talking about being able to claim back a certain percentage of union fees via the lovely people at the tax office. Is it true? I've been paying for 7 years. Sounds too good to be true to me...

3. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

You can get tax relief on the amount paid.

4. Thank you Middlemarch. How does one go about that (or is it somehow sorted out automatically in pay packets like it often is with the GTC fees)? Thank you for your help!

5. Write to (or phone) your tax office. They are very helpful (well they were with OH earlier this year when she was claiming) and they will tell you what evidence they will need to process your claim. Be quick as you can only claim back six years of outstanding contributions.

6. Forgot to mention the tax office will just adjust your code for the next year - you won't see a nice cheque in your post.

7. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

You're allowed to claim subscriptions to professional bodies against tax. It's one of the few things you can claim as a teacher. Ring the tax office responsible for your tax coding and speak with them, it may not be necessary to fill any forms in.