1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Uni tutor coming to observe very difficult year ten class-help!

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by charlylou, Feb 28, 2011.

1. Hey everyone was just looking for some advice. I'm a pgce student on my first placement and my university tutor is coming to observe me. Last time went really well- I had a lovely year 7 class. This time I am teaching my year ten class filled with some of the worst students in school. Their current teacher is really laid back and lets bad language and behaviour slide. I'm really not sure what to do-I have only taught them for a few lessons as it is. I have a feeling they will see I am being observed and bring me down intentionally. If I follow school sanctions it would most likely result in them kicking off and I'm not sure I could control the situation. The teacher has offered to take some students out of the lesson but I feel that would be really obvious to the other students why they aren't there.
    Does anyone have any suggestions? Sorry for rambling on loads!

2. gravell

gravell New commenter

Follow through with the school sanctions. In my opinion if you follow through the school sanctions system correctlly then you are covered.

3. Zadok1

Zadok1 New commenter

Make sure the lesson plan you give to the tutor highlights possible problems and strategies you plan to use in response. This might sound nuts but try introducing the observer to the class and casually say that you've already told him how great they are at.... whatever you're doing. They might just be pleased and want to show off.